Press Release No 1

Press Release No 1

Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2012

Monday 23 January 2012

County Kerry will once again host the first major stage race of the 2012 Irish Cycle Racing season. Based in Killorglin, ‘Kerry Group Rás Mumhan’ will take place over the Easter Weekend from Good Friday 06 April to Easter Monday 09 April. The premier four day International Stage race is again kindly sponsored by Kerry Group.

Mr. Frank Hayes, Director of Corporate Affairs, Kerry Group, said: “We are delighted to continue our sponsorship of this top class international event, which continues to play an essential role in promoting cycle racing in Ireland. This is our fourth year as title sponsors of the race which continues to grow in stature each year in terms of both the competitive nature of the race and the way in which the race is organised. This is due to the hard work and dedication of the local cycling club in Killorglin along with all the clubs in Kerry and further afield, who put their weight and experience behind the race.” He added: “Kerry Group Rás Mumhan is now recognised both at home and abroad as one of the top stage races in Ireland & Britain.”

Sean Lacey - Winner 2011 Kerry Group Rás Mumhan

On behalf of the Race Organisation, Race Director Tadhg Moriarty said: “Kerry Group is one of the top sporting sponsorship brands in this country and the fact that they are continuing their sponsorship of the event is a huge statement that the race is continuing to go from strength to strength each year.”

The Kerry Group Rás Mumhan race route for 2012 will once again feature a challenging mountain top stage finish. For the second year running, the top of the famous Conor Pass on the Dingle Peninsula has been chosen as the stage finish on Easter Saturday. Easter Sunday’s stage will again take place in South Kerry but there will be a slight change to the Good Friday and Easter Monday stages. With a total race distance of almost 500 km the race will visit East, West, South and Mid Kerry over four days of racing. Full details of the route will be published shortly. Last year’s success for Sean Lacey, who kept the ‘Title’ at home in the Kingdom despite a very strong foreign challenge, will only add to the competition this year with the visiting teams trying to take the title abroad for the first time since England’s Russel Downing’s won in 2004.

Clubs, teams or individuals interested in taking part in the race should contact the Race Secretary, Mary Concannon: Tel: 00 353 64 44396 / 00 353 87 2802071,

Full details of the route will be available on the website at

For further information please contact:

Tadhg Moriarty Race Director/Press Officer Rás Mumhan 00353 87 2443360

Maria Rohan Kerry Group 00353 66 7182309

Scroll to Top