Overall Prize Fund for 2015

There is an increase in the Overall Prize Fund for 2015, with more emphasis on the Under 23 competition. This is a very important part of the race and shows the commitment of the Race Organization in promoting this level of the Sport.

Last year there were 29 riders in this category and this year’s entry shows an increase to near the 40 mark, which is almost 20% of the field. This is a very encouraging sign for the event.

The total Prize fund increases by €800 and is now to the value of €7000. The daily stage fund is € 650, which includes the first ten over the line, and the first three under 23 riders. The overall competitions are for the first twelve on general classification, the first three in each of the ‘King of the Mountains’, Points, Espoir and Senior 2 classifications.

Photo - Pat Doherty

The team competition prize fund is for first and second teams overall after the four days. The daily most combative rider prize returns again this year and the usual list of primes on the Waterville stage on Sunday are also retained, as is the Prize for the first Kerryman on this stage.

Last year’s victors were Mark Dowling (DID Dunboyne) who took the overall title. The under twenty-three title went to Dutch rider Sjors Decker who held off the challenge of Sean McKenna, ‘King of the Mountains’ was Dylan Foley in the National under twenty three colours, Brendan Cassidy from the Killarney Club won the Senior 2 title, Sean Lacey (Aqua Blue) a former winner and fifth overall last year was the best Kerryman overall.. West Frisia from Holland won the Team prize.

It is expected that all these riders will be in the field again this year for what promises to be an intriguing race.


Scroll to Top