Teams named for Kerry Group Rás Mumhan 2015

Three of the visiting foreign teams have named their teams for the Kerry Group Ras Mumhan four day International Cycle Race. The race starts in Killorglin Co. Kerry on Good Friday and finishes back there on Easter Monday morning. The race visits Kenmare and Waterville for big mountain stages on Easter Saturday and Sunday, with the Healy Pass on Saturday and Coom An Easpaig on Sunday, both Category 1 Climbs. The total distance for the four days is just over 500km.

John Herety brings a talented Under 23 JLT Condor Mavic UCI Continental Team to the race for the first time:

  • Ed Laverick (20) Welshman and is the Under 23 National Champion
  • Dante Carpenter (20) was third in the under 23 National Championships as well as being Surrey SE Regional Champion. He held the Mountains Jersey in the Coppa A Espansa.
  • Joe Moses (21) won the Junior Tour of the Isle of Man. He is also a strong cyclo cross rider.
  • Luke Grivel Mellor (22) has won the Stafford GP and was runner up in the National Junior Road Race Series
  • David McCarthy (20) is well known on the Irish scene; he was second on stage 1 on the Corkman two day.

“It will be a great chance for these young riders to ride for themselves as opposed to having to support the more senior guys on the team. We have a couple of good climbers and a sprinter as well, so we will be expecting to be in the mix most days, but we realize that the competition will be strong,” says Team Manager John Herety.

Felt Colbourne Hargroves Racing Team, also from the UK come to the race for the fourth time. This team focuses on many cycling disciplines, road, mountain, cyclo-cross and enduro. John Heaton-Armstrong who is coming to the race for the seventh time will lead the team. Also on board is John Venesse who has competed in the Ras on a few occasions. John got a bad fall coming off the Conor Pass a few years ago. They bring four newcomers with them: Pete Wagner, a 1st Cat rider, Tom Leach, Henry Sheldon and Charles Podschies, who are all Development riders.

“We continue to expose these riders to the best racing in the UK, Continental Europe and Ireland. Competing in a race like this is big as it is difficult to find an event like it in the UK,” says John Heaton-Armstrong.

Top Team-Lithuania formed in 2007. They come back to the race after their debut last year. Elijus Civilus is the team leader. Last year he won the Lithuanian Elite Road Series Cup event over five stages and a TT. Arunas Gliaudelis is a former pro and member of the National Road Squad. Deividas Vileniskis was National Road masters Champion in 2012. Last year he competed in the Tour of Estonia UCI 2.1 event. Andrejus Dolgovas was National Elite MTB Champion in 2012 as well as National Duathlon Champion in 2013. Ryan Sherlock is a guest and will look to this strong team to back his efforts to win the title he let slip to Denis Baaker by just eleven seconds in the final few kilometers in 2012. The sixth rider has yet to be named.

For further information contact:

Mary Concannon, Race Secretary/Organizer: 00353 87 2802071/00353 64 6644396, maryconcannon15@

Tadhg Moriarty, Race Director/Press Officer: 00353 87 2443360,

Frank Hayes, Kerry Group, 00353 66 7182000,


Scroll to Top